MiDAS training

Who needs the MiDAS qualification?

All drivers must have a current MiDAS qualification in order to drive our minibuses.

What is MiDAS?

MiDAS (Minibus Drivers Awareness Scheme) is an award winning, nationally recognised, assessment and training scheme for minibus drivers in the voluntary and not-for-profit sectors.

MiDAS is administered nationally by CTA UK (Community Transport Association UK).

MiDAS Assessment provision

We have a trained MiDAS assessor to undertake the classroom based theory and on road driving assessment. The qualification is valid for 4 years, after which time you just need to complete a renewal assessment to remain qualified.

Standard or Accessible Certificate

There are 2 levels of assessement – standard and accessible.

The standard assessment provides information on passenger safety, child passenger safety, defensive driving, accident and emergency procedure and responsibilities of a minibus driver.

The accessible assessment module is compulsory for drivers who intend to carry passengers with mobility difficulties (e.g. those travelling in wheelchairs and those who may require using the passenger lift). It includes information on securing wheelchairs within the minibus and use of the passenger lift in additition to the information included in the standard assessment.

How much does a MiDAS assessment cost?

The cost of the assessments are as follows:

Standard Assessment is £116.40
Accessible Assessment is £138.00

You can renew your MiDAS certificate for £64.80. You can’t renew a MiDAS certificate if it has expired more than 3 months ago.

What are the requirements for the assessment?

You must be over 21 years of age and hold a full (not provisional) current driving licence.

It is preferable for drivers to have a D1 entitlement on their driving licence. If drivers do not have a D1 entitlement they are limited to drive buses under a certain weight. Currently Community Transport only has a couple of buses under this weight which will restrict the availability of suitable buses to drive.

Drivers who passed their car-driving test on or after 1st January 1997 will not automatically have a D1 entitlement on their licence and are therefore required to meet higher medical standards and take a further test to obtain a D1 entitlement to drive a minibus in the U.K. and abroad.

Drivers who passed their test before 1st January 1997 retain their D1 entitlement to drive a minibus with up to 16 passenger seats in the U.K. Community Transport still requires that all drivers have a valid MiDAS qualification as well.

Click here to apply for a MiDAS assessment (online form)

If you don’t want or can’t apply on-line, please download an application form and return it by e-mail to easylink@bhct.co.uk, or post to the following address: Community Transport, Unit 8 Fairway Business Centre, Westergate Road, Brighton, BN2 4JZ.

You can view this document using the free Acrobat Reader (opens in a new window).

Already MiDAS qualified?

Please ensure that you keep us informed of any changes to the information supplied when you applied for your MiDAS membership.

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann